When Can the Police Pull You Over in Mississippi?

Getting pulled over in Mississippi is always a daunting experience. Even if you know that you have not committed a crime, simply being faced with an armed police officer is enough to cause anxiety and fear. It can be particularly unnerving when you believe you have been pulled over for no reason. But can the police actually do this in Mississippi? More to the point, when can police officers legally pull you over in the Magnolia State?


The truth is, police can essentially pull you over whenever they feel like it. However, this does not mean that what they are doing is legal. If you are charged with a crime as a result of an unlawful traffic stop, you can easily fight these charges with the help of a qualified criminal defense attorney in Mississippi. The problem is that many defendants do not actually realize that police were acting in an unlawful manner when they were pulled over. Often, it takes an experienced lawyer to point this out and fight for your rights in an effective manner.


Air Fresheners


The police can pull you over for obstructing your rear-view mirror. This has led to a wide range of people being pulled over for putting air fresheners on their vehicles. Unfortunately, this can constitute a valid reason to pull someone over. As a result, police can theoretically conduct searches, find evidence of other crimes, and charge you as a result. This was made clear after a traffic stop in 2012 due to an air freshener. After the driver was pulled over in Harrison County, police discovered $56,000 in cash. It was later determined that the cash was linked to drug trafficking, and the defendant faced considerable legal issues as a result.


Tinted Windows


Police can also pull you over for having your windows tinted. According to Mississippi law, you can only tint the top six inches of your windshield. This is known as the AS-1 line. All other windows must allow more than 28% of light to be transmitted through, although regulations are slightly more generous for SUVs and vans. Tinted windows also cannot be more than 20% reflective. Violations can result in fines of up to $1,000 and up to three months in jail.


Other Reasons


There are many other factors that might cause you to be pulled over in Mississippi, and many of these factors are probably well-known among drivers:


  • Driving erratically
  • Damage to the vehicle
  • Lights not working
  • Speeding
  • Driving too slow


Enlist the Help of a Qualified Attorney Today


If you have been charged with a crime after an unlawful traffic stop, reach out to Vic Carmody Jr., P.A. Over the years, we have helped numerous defendants in Mississippi fight for their rights in an effective manner. You may have committed a crime, but you can still escape charges if a traffic stop or search was conducted in an unconstitutional manner. Book your consultation today, and we can immediately start working on an effective defense strategy together.

Contact Information