What Happens if I Cause an Injury While Driving Drunk in Mississippi?

A DUI becomes much more serious if you cause a crash. Unfortunately, a DUI becomes even more serious if that crash caused injuries. This is true even if it was your very first offense, which makes these DUI laws quite unforgiving. If you find yourself in this situation, you might be wondering how you can avoid needlessly excessive legal consequences. But what exactly are those consequences? How much jail time will you face, and how much will you be fined? What about other penalties, such as ignition interlock devices and license suspension?

To answer these questions effectively, you will need to get in touch with an experienced criminal defense attorney in Mississippi. You should get in touch with an attorney who specifically has experience with DUI cases, as our legal professionals can guide you toward a positive legal outcome in the most efficient way possible. During your initial consultation, we will assess your situation and determine the best defense strategy. It is best to connect with our defense attorneys as soon as possible.

If You Cause an Injury, You Will Face Felony DUI Charges

The first thing you need to know is that a DUI with injuries is considered a felony in the Magnolia State. This means that if you cause a crash that results in injuries or death for innocent motorists, you will face up to 25 years behind bars. The minimum sentence is five years. Of course, you will also face all of the other consequences of a DUI, including license suspension, ignition interlock, community service, mandatory education programs, fines, and so on. While these consequences are serious, they are nowhere near as life-changing as a prison sentence that can last for decades. You should also know that you can be charged with this crime even if it is your first time driving intoxicated.

Child Endangerment

If you are carrying a child in your car at the time of your accident and you committed a DUI, you will be charged with child endangerment. While this is only a misdemeanor if no accident occurred, you may face a felony charge if you crashed and the child was injured. Like a DUI with injuries, you will face up to 25 years in jail as a result. It is worth noting that this could be a single-vehicle crash. For example, you could simply crash into a pole, and you would still face a felony charge if the child in the vehicle became injured in any way.

Enlist the Help of a Qualified Attorney Today

If you have been searching for a qualified defense attorney in Mississippi, look no further than Vic Carmody Jr., P.A. With our help you can approach this difficult and daunting situation in the most confident and efficient way possible. Although the penalties for a DUI with injuries can be harsh, there are a number of potential defense strategies we can employ on your behalf. With our assistance, you can mitigate these consequences and strive for the best possible outcome. Book
your consultation today to learn more.

Contact Information