St. Patrick’s Day is a popular holiday for friends and family to gather and celebrate often by drinking alcohol. Consequently, DUI related offenses often occur because of excessive celebration. Travel options are available during this day in age that would prevent DUI related offenses or accidents from happening. Many people however choose to test their so called “luck of the Irish,” and decide that their they are okay to drive when ever and where ever it is that they are trying to go.
On March 26th, 2022 in downtown Jackson, MS, there will be a St. Patrick’s Day parade and a celebration attended by 50,000 plus citizens. Cops are on high alert and on the lookout for potential drunk drivers. It is bound to happen that many people will be pulled over or stopped at road blocks for drunk driving. If you find yourself in this situation, you are going to need the help of an effective and experienced DUI attorney that can help you with your DUI arrest.
What Will Happen to Me if I am Accused of Excessive Celebration?
Every year, in the United States, more than 150 million people celebrate St. Patrick’s Day either by drinking at a friend’s house or by going out to a local bar. DUI related charges will rise by a staggering 10% on this day alone. In the state of Mississippi, if a driver is pulled over and their blood alcohol concentration is .08% or higher, then that person is going to be charged. St. Patrick’s Day “luck” is not going to get you out of a possible DUI charge.
What are the Different Levels of DUI Charges in Mississippi?
For a first offense DUI in the state of Mississippi, the person is fined between Two Hundred- Fifty Dollars ($250.00) and One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00). It is also possible that the person can be placed under arrest for forty-eight (48) hours in jail.
For a second offense DUI charge, the penalty becomes much steeper. A person convicted of a DUI second offense can expect to pay a fine anywhere between Six Hundred Dollars ($600.00) and One Thousand Five Hundred Dollars ($1,500.00). In addition, offenders can expect a sentence anywhere between five (5) days to six (6) months in jail. Finally, offenders can expect to be sentenced to serve community service for anywhere between ten (10) days to six (6) months.
For a third offense DUI, offenders can expect the penalty to be even greater. Offenders, if found guilty will be a convicted felon and can expect to pay a fine between Two Thousand Dollars ($2,000.00) and no more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00). Also, this person can expect to serve anywhere between one (1) year to five (5) years in custody of the Department of Corrections.
For a DUI fourth and subsequent offense, offenders if found guilty will also be a convicted felon and can expect to pay a fine anywhere between Three Thousand Dollars ($3,000.00) and Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00). In addition, this person can expect to serve anywhere between two (2) years to ten (10) years in the custody of the Department of Corrections.
Enlist the Help of a Qualified Attorney
When you a searching the state of Mississippi for a qualified and experienced DUI attorney, look no further than Vic Carmody Jr., P.A. Over the years, our qualified lawyers at the Carmody Law Firm have helped countless defendants who have received DUI’s all across the state of Mississippi. If you find yourself in this situation, please feel free to book your free consultation with our office today. With almost 100 years of legal experience, the attorneys in our office will fight for your rights.
Please also see us on Mississippi-lawyers.com and view our reviews on avvo.com, superlawyers.com, and martindale.com. Our email address is firstname.lastname@example.org and our office phone number is (601) 948-4444 option 1.