Penalties for Meth Production in Mississippi

According to the official statistics, amphetamines are the most commonly abused drugs in the state of Mississippi. 24% of all substance abuse patients in the state are struggling with addiction to amphetamines. One of the most popular and well-known amphetamines is, of course, methamphetamine. Although a significant portion of meth in Mississippi is imported into the state, there are also local producers who set up their own “meth labs” and supply addicts with a steady supply of methamphetamines. 

Make no mistake, you face significant consequences if you are caught running a meth lab in the state of Mississippi. This is why it is so important to enlist the help of a qualified, experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. It always makes sense to give yourself the best possible chance of a positive legal outcome. Even if you are facing serious, life-altering legal consequences, you might be surprised at how a skilled attorney can help. 

Precursor Drugs

In order to manufacture methamphetamine, chemists need access to precursors. These chemicals are commonly known as “Sudafed,” and they include pseudoephedrine and ephedrine. Previously, these precursors were classified as Schedule II drugs in Mississippi. This meant that you could not simply go to your local pharmacy and purchase them over the counter. However, drug manufacturers simply used different ingredients. Worse still, the lack of options for local manufacturers meant that the majority of meth was then imported by the Mexican cartels. 

In the end, the laws banning the sale of over-the-counter Sudafed achieved absolutely nothing. This is why legislators in Mississippi reversed this decision in 2021, making Sudafed legal to purchase over the counter once again.

The Penalty for Creating a Meth Lab in Mississippi

According to Mississippi law, it is illegal to manufacture methamphetamine with the intent to sell or distribute. The exact punishment for this crime depends on how much methamphetamine is found at the scene of the crime. As long as the authorities find more than 30 grams of meth at your meth lab, you will be charged with a felony. This felony conviction involves a maximum prison sentence of 40 years and a maximum fine of $1 million. 

If they find more than 200 grams of meth at the scene of the crime, you will be charged with aggravated trafficking, which results in even more serious consequences. Other factors that can increase your sentence include manufacturing meth near a church or school, or selling to someone under the age of 21. 

Enlist the Help of a Qualified Attorney Today

If you have been searching for a qualified, experienced criminal defense attorney in Mississippi, look no further than Vic Carmody Jr., P.A. Thanks to a wealth of experience with criminal defense law and drug charges, we can help you approach this difficult situation in the most efficient way possible. Even though you might be facing significant consequences, it always makes sense to try your best and fight for your rights. Reach out today, and we can start developing an action plan together.

Contact Information